g'day!! ok, but now it really should be g'night but whatever...
last night after work i went to a sleep-over at the co-workers' house. it was a blast!! i think that i was the first sleep-over that i have been to in the last 4 years. wow. anyway, it was a lot of fun - we had a toga party (which i missed the majority of), way too many desserts/junk food, watched the spitfire grill (it's an ok movie in a retreat/moral lesson kind of way) and our favorite clips of phantom of the opera since only 3 people wanted to really watch it, and stayed up talking for a couple of hours. it was fun!!! then today we went to the indiana sand dunes. at first i was unsure as to whether or not i was going to go because my mom was nervous - how are you getting there, who is driving, you're not driving, how long will you be...all those type of questions - and i was supposed to be going to a wedding. i kinda didn't want to go to the wedding because although i had met everyone in the family (about 4 years ago!!), i didn't think i would enjoy myself because we aren't really friends anymore and i wouldn't have known anyone. now i am really glad that i didn't go because (1) i had a really great time at the dunes, and (2) my sister said that the wedding was boring because she didn't know anyone. the dunes were awesome though - i am soooooooooooooo glad that i went!!! lol. by the time we got there (we had gotten lost a little), we didn't have much time to spend, but it was still a lot of fun. first we had to climb this mother of a sand mountain!!! i was HUGE and very very STEEP! it was almost impossible to stand straight as well as keep moving - the sand was super hot and really hard to walk on! kayci and i held a little rebellion once we finally got to the top - we declared that we weren't going to go down the other side to the water and that we were going to simply sit there all day. the view was gorgeous!! the water was such a vibrant color blue-green, tons of boats were out, and there was a neat view of the chicago skyline. well our rebellion didn't last all that long - maybe 10 minutes - before kata dragged us down the hill to eat lunch. we all decided to put some lemon juice in our hair...let's see if it works. then we just kinda sat around, talked, and ate some more. caroline was the only one to bring a bathing suit, but lauren went in the water anyway. they said it was nice. so i decided that i was going to merely get my feet wet. the water was a little cold, but once i got used to it, it felt great! after deciding to move just a little deeper, i accidently got the knees of my jeans wet, then my thighs and butt - i was just a teensy little bit wet. after caroline saw how wet i was, she suggested that i might as well just get all the way in - and so i did! it was really worth it because the water felt so nice. plus, i haven't gone swimming in a lake in clothes for a long time (i wear a bathing suit you idiot! get your mind out of the gutter!! lol) so it felt pretty cool. i think i gained at least 10 pounds because of the weight of my wet clothes!! lol. it felt so weird. kata wanted pictures so we all laid down in the sand - i stood up and my wet clothes were plastered in sand!!! lol. i think i looked silly. ah well. luckily i had planned ahead so i had a change of clothing...but i was still wet and sandy the entire ride home!! poor car - i think we made an enormous mess. oh well. the entire ride home we sang/danced along to the radio - it was fun but i caught some people driving along giving us some weird looks...yeah!!! it was a blast! we all have decided that we are going to take another trip back for a longer time sometime later in the summer, so if you missed it, you can come then. now i am really tired - blah! i think i am going to go watch robin hood with errol flynn and oliva de ha...something or the other and fall asleep. night!
steph
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment